Now This Is The Tea I love To Sip!

Homeless grad

Cuddos to Michael Blaustein, with the NY Post, for introducing us to Chelesa Fearce. Who is she you may ask? She is, (in my Alicia Keys voice, a “Girl On Fire!”

A recent graduate of Charles Drew High School, located in Clayton County, Georgia, Miss Chelesa respectfully earned the title of valedictorian for successfully maintaining a 4.466 GPA.

Wait, there’s more…

She scored 1900 (1900 is impressive) on her SATs, “The SAT Reasoning Test (formerly Scholastic Aptitude Test and Scholastic Assessment Test) is a standardized test for college admissions. Thank you wikipedia for that information!” and since she enrolled in college courses during her high school years, she will be attending Spelman College as a junior next year for biology.

I want to draw blood from this Teen Titan and inject it in my children, and myself too, because this is the Tea I been waiting to share; wait for it…(In my Steven Irvin…Katt Williams voice)

wait… for.. it…(In my Steven Irvin…Katt Williams voice again)

Chelesa Fearce, her five brothers, and her parents were homeless during many of her high school years. Miss Fearce, and the name fits her perfectly, was studying in homeless shelters! She says that she would use the light off of her cellphone to read when the shelters shut the power off for the night. Some nights the Fearce family would sleep in their car if they had one at the time.

In her valedictorian speech, she revealed two intimate worries she had during her high school years. Worries about food, because some days she was un-able to eat and worries about taking a shower, because shelters are pretty much, “first come, first served.” I mean this is a young woman…. She concluded her speech by telling her classmates “Don’t give up. Do what you have to do right now so that you can have the future that you want,”

Wipe…Wipe…Wipe….I am so touched by this story. Wipe… I am so impressed with this young woman. She’s beautiful and could have allowed herself to be taken over by men; she could have gave up and dropped out of school and found drugs as her way of escape; she could have let peer pressure of not being like other girls detour her into a dark, scary, place, but she didn’t. Destiny’s Child, “I’m A Survivor” lyrics are playing in my head.

Congratulations Chelesa! You have encouraged me; as well as, millions of youths and adults around the world. I pray blessings for you and your family beginning today until the continuation of each of your lives.

Leave a Reply

